How to Know Nearby Friends on Facebook

0
214
How to Know Nearby Friends on Facebook âś…

Near By Friends Location On Facebook: The “Nearby Friends” feature on Facebook mobile lets friends know that you’re nearby. If you have the Facebook app on your phone (iPhone or Android), you have this feature readily available.  Nearby Friends is an opt-in feature; meaning, it is OFF unless you turn the feature ON. So in this guide, we will tell you how you can enable this feature so that friends near you can contact you and who knows, a great friendship can start from there.
Now, let us take a closer look at the real meaning of nearby friends and talk about how you can enjoy this feature.

Near%2BBy%2BFriends%2BLocation%2BOn%2BFacebook%2B%257C%2BHow%2Bto%2BFind%2BOut%2BNearby%2BFriends%2Bin%2BFacebook%253F

 

Find Friends on Facebook Nearby - Cant Find Nearby Friends on Facebook | How to Find Nearby Friends on Facebook in PC

Posts Contribution:
We at BuzzFeedNg are lovers of great contents; we accept posts contribution that are honest and related to the topics that we cover here on BuzzFeedNg.com. Kindly send your post to us via [admin(at)buzzfeedng.com] or [coolieecoldex(at)gmail.com] and we will publish free of charge.Continue reading below;

HOW NEARBY FRIENDS WORKS ON THE FACEBOOK MOBILE APP

Nearby friends are found within the FB app on the “More” tab at the bottom.  Click the “more” tab, and then you’ll see Nearby Friends.  If turned off, you’ll be prompted to turn it on.
fb-nearbyfriendsinapp fb-turnonnearbyfriends
Once on, you’ll see a list of Nearby Friends – those on your Facebook friends list who have ALSO decided to turn on this feature.  (This means you won’t see all your friends listed here).
fbnearbyfreindslist
(Faces blurred because they don’t want to admit they know me ;-))
Click the settings icon in the upper right (as in the screenshot above).  This is where you can choose who can see your location.  For example, if you have set up lists on Facebook, you can choose to share your location with just that particular list, such as Close Friends.  The default is “Friends” as shown on the left; select and then choose from your available listings.
fbnearbyfriendsaudience  fbnearbyclosefriends
You can also share your precise location with a friend if you wish. For example, you might see that a friend is nearby and you want to meet up with them.  Click the arrow icon next to their name and then choose how long they can see your every move.
fbnearbyfreindslistshare
fbnearbyfriendssharedetails
This video from Tech Crunch shows precisely how this works.

HOW TO TURN OFF NEARBY FRIENDS IN FACEBOOK

If you’ve used Nearby Friends and decided it’s not for you, turn the feature off. Follow the same steps (More tab > Nearby Friends > Settings) and then slide the slider to the left until the slider is no longer green.
fblocationsettings
The tiny text on the screen lets you know that even though you have turned off Nearby Friends, the app is still building a “history of your precise location even when you’re not using the app.”  If you feel this is a bit intrusive, take a look at the Location Settings.
On the Location Settings screen, slide the slider to the left to turn off Location History.  This doesn’t delete your previously saved history; that is still lurking around on your Activity Log.  While you are the only, who can see this log (it is not shared with friends), you can remove your history if you prefer.
fblocationsettingsoff
To get to the history log, click the “More” tab again, scroll down and find Activity Log. Choose the Filter at the top, and select Location History (It’s near the bottom of the list).  Once selected, you’ll have a filtered view of your activity that only shows location history. Select “Clear Location History” (shown here).

fbnearbyactivitylog1

Learn more about Facebook Nearby friends on the Facebook help page.

TEENS AND NEARBY FRIENDS

For those with teens who are active on Facebook, this would be a great time to review their Friends lists.  Teens are more likely to have a large number of Facebook friends.  Their friend’s list is probably more of a “random acquaintance” list.  They could be sharing their whereabouts with hundreds of people.  Unless they are selective when adding friends, they might be making their general location known to more people than you’d like (or they even realize).
Again, this is an opt-in feature, so talk with your teen about whether they should use this feature if they have Facebook on their phone.  If they do, perhaps limiting the sharing to “Close Friends” would be a wise approach.
So what do you think? Does this feature sound like a good idea? If you think you might find this useful, you may want to turn this feature on.   I only see value if most of your friends use Facebook on the go and also turn this feature on.  If you are concerned about privacy and sharing your location data with others – even if they are your friends – or you don’t think you’ll ever use it, then leave it off.

Facebook Comments
I hope this post was helpful? show your support by sharing these articles to your friends and relatives who might need it on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and Instagram using the share button below.
Copyright & Warning: Published contents on this blog may not be reproduced, republished, redistributed either in whole or in part without due permission or acknowledgment.The blog content on this site is written and published with good intentions. If you own this content & believe that your copyright was violated or infringed, please ensure you contact us via [admin(at)buzzfeedng.com] or [coolieecoldex(at)gmail.com] to file a complaint and actions will be taken with an immediate effect.

Facebook Comments
Disclosure: This post can contain affiliate links, which means that if you click a link and buy anything we suggested, we may earn a fee. Read more about Affiliate disclosure here.


We believe and sincerely hope that this post was helpful to you, please show your support by sharing it with your families, acquaintances, friends, and relatives who might be in a dire need of this help-guide via Facebook, Twitter, as well as on Instagram platform using the social buttons on this page.


Copyright And Warning: Published contents (including posts and media) on this blog may not be reproduced, redistributed, republished either in whole or in part without due permission or acknowledgment from the Quick News Ng administrator.

The blog posts and other content on this blog is written and published with good intentions. If you own any of the content and believe that your copyright was violated or infringed, please ensure you contact us via [coolieecoldex(at)gmail.com] to file a complaint, and actions will be taken with an immediate effect.

Leave a Reply