How to Delete a Facebook Group.
Are you the administrator of a Facebook group that is dormant or no longer required? If that’s the case, you might be interested in learning how to remove a Facebook group by eliminating everyone. Alternatively, you can archive the group to close or deactivate it. Continue reading to find out how to do both.
What’s the Difference Between Archiving and Deleting a Facebook Group?
Archiving and deleting a Facebook group is not the same. Each has slightly different consequences.
Archiving a Group
When you archive a Facebook group, it becomes inaccessible to new members. When a group is archived, it appears to be deactivated or frozen, but the admin can unarchive it at any moment. Members can still access an archived group, but they can no longer post, comment, or submit photographs or videos. Members can only see what the group published before it was archived.
Read also: The 6 Best Facebook Groups for Vegan Dating
No new members will be able to join an archived group because only existing members will be able to access it. In addition, the archived group will not appear in Facebook search results. Group admins won’t be allowed to make changes to the details of the archived group, such as the description or photo, but they will be able to delete posts and remove or ban people. If an administrator decides to restore an archived group to its original state, all members will be free to continue posting.
Deleting a Group
The deletion of a Facebook group is irreversible. You won’t be able to return it once it’s been completed. It’s also worth noting that only the original group creator, who is still a member, has the authority to permanently remove the group. If the originator of the group has gone, any other admin can delete it. When a group is archived, members are alerted, but they are not contacted when a group is deleted.
How to Close/Archive a Facebook Group
In a web browser, you can only archive a Facebook group via Facebook.com. The Facebook mobile apps for iOS and Android do not support this feature.
- Select Groups from the Explore area in the left column on Facebook.com. To archive it, you must be a group admin.
- Under Groups You Manage, select the name of your group.
- Directly beneath the group banner photo, click More.
- From the selection menu, choose Archive Group.
- To archive it, select Confirm.
Once the group has been archived, members will receive an email message. If you ever wish to reopen the group, simply go back to step one and click More, then Unarchive Group from the drop-down list, then Confirm.
How to Delete a Facebook Group
There isn’t a “delete” option anywhere within a Facebook group, but there is another way to deactivate groups forever. To delete a Facebook group, simply remove all of the group’s members and quit the group yourself.
To follow these procedures and effectively delete the group, you must be the group’s founder. If the creator has left the organization, this rule does not apply. If you’re an admin and the group’s originator has departed, you can delete it. This can be done using Facebook.com or the Facebook iOS or Android mobile apps.
- Go to the group you want to delete and delete it. Select Groups on Facebook.com, then the name of your group under the Groups You Manage column on the left. Tap the menu icon in the main menu at the bottom for iOS or the top for Android, then tap Groups, then tap the group under Groups You Manage in the Facebook app.
- Select Members from the left-hand vertical menu on Facebook.com. Tap the collection of member profile photographs at the top of the app.
- Select Remove from Group from the three dots next to each member’s name on Facebook.com. Tap each member’s name in the app, then tap Remove member.
- Select the selections you want to delete under Remove Member, then click Confirm.
- Rep step three for each individual member of the group until you’re the only one remaining. Unfortunately, there is no method to delete multiple members of a group at once. If you have hundreds or even thousands of members, removing each one manually will take a long time. In this scenario, you might prefer to simply archive the group because it is a faster method.
- Your name and profile photo should be the only ones left on Facebook.com, listed at the top under Admins and Moderators. Leave the group by selecting the three dots. Tap Admins at the top of the Membership page in the app, which should be your only remaining member listing. Leave the group by tapping your name. The group will be permanently deleted after you complete this step, so make sure you want it gone before you leave it after eliminating everyone else.
- The group is immediately deleted if there are no members, admins, or creators left in it.
How to Delete a Facebook Group.
We believe and sincerely hope that this post was helpful to you, please show your support by sharing it with your families, acquaintances, friends, and relatives who might be in a dire need of this help-guide via Facebook, Twitter, as well as on Instagram platform using the social buttons on this page.
Copyright And Warning: Published contents (including posts and media) on this blog may not be reproduced, redistributed, republished either in whole or in part without due permission or acknowledgment from the Quick News Ng administrator.
The blog posts and other content on this blog is written and published with good intentions. If you own any of the content and believe that your copyright was violated or infringed, please ensure you contact us via [coolieecoldex(at)gmail.com] to file a complaint, and actions will be taken with an immediate effect.