How To Facebook Friend Block

0
1488

Facebook has made provision for several types of blocking, hidden away in various Settings menus. You can block a person from seeing the things you post on Facebook, but there are several other types of blocking as well. You can block people from sending you instant messages, block apps from contacting you, and even block events from sending you invitations. Whenever you block someone they will no longer be able to tag you or see things you post on your timeline.

What exactly happens when I block someone? Whenever you block someone, they will not be able to:

  • See things you post on your profile
  • Tag you in posts, comments or photos
  • Invite you to events or groups
  • Start a conversation with you
  • Add you as a friend

If you block someone you are friends with, Facebook will unfriend you as well. If you do not want to unfriend someone but see less of their posts on Facebook, you can take a break from them.

When you block someone, you also will not be able to do things like; start a conversation with them or send them friend requests. Know that blocking someone may not prevent all communications or interactions (like in apps or groups) and only affects your interactions with that person on Facebook.

To block someone in your blocking settings:

  • Click on the arrow button at the top right of Facebook and choose Settings.
  • Click on  Blocking in the left side menu.
  • Input the name of the person you want to block and click on Block.
  • Pick the specific person you want to block from the list that appears and click Block.

Blocking Facebook social Ads

To opt out of being included in Facebook social advertisements;

  • Log on to your Facebook account
  • Click on Accounts at the upper right-hand corner of the home page.
  • Click on “Account settings” and then “Facebook ads.”
  • Click on the “no one” option under “Ads shown by third-party applications.”
  • Browse through and click on “no one” to opt out of social ads completely.

To safeguard your privacy, be careful of third party applications that you enable when you browse through Facebook, cause they may not be trustworthy.

Blocking Unwanted Instant Messages

  • Open the conversation with the person you want to block
  • Tap the person’s user name at the top of the screen
  • Scroll down and Click on “Block.”
  • Click on the toggle next to “Block Messages” to stop the user from sending you messages and calling on Messenger.

N/B: People will not be notified when you block them.

If you can not find someone using this method, try going to the person’s profile and selecting ‘Block’ from the menu on their cover photo. Also when you unblock someone, you will not automatically be friends again. If you block a friend and then unblock them, you will need to send them a new friend request.

Disclosure: This post can contain affiliate links, which means that if you click a link and buy anything we suggested, we may earn a fee. Read more about Affiliate disclosure here.


We believe and sincerely hope that this post was helpful to you, please show your support by sharing it with your families, acquaintances, friends, and relatives who might be in a dire need of this help-guide via Facebook, Twitter, as well as on Instagram platform using the social buttons on this page.


Copyright And Warning: Published contents (including posts and media) on this blog may not be reproduced, redistributed, republished either in whole or in part without due permission or acknowledgment from the Quick News Ng administrator.

The blog posts and other content on this blog is written and published with good intentions. If you own any of the content and believe that your copyright was violated or infringed, please ensure you contact us via [coolieecoldex(at)gmail.com] to file a complaint, and actions will be taken with an immediate effect.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here